1602 #1: Part One; In Which We are Introduced to Some of Our Featured Players

1602 is an eight-part limited series by Neil Gaiman, Andy Kubert and Richard Isanove. Therein, Gaiman explores the alternate reality if various Marvel superheroes existed in the 17th century instead of the present day. As Gaiman drew characters from pre-1969 Marvel, only Charles Xavier, Scott Summers, Jean Grey, Henry McCoy, Warren Worthington III and Bobby Drake represented the X-Men. They inherited the same mutant powers and looks (Hank sans blue fur); only their names were altered slightly. Hence, Carolus Javier, Scotius Summerisle, Jean (John) Grey, Hal McCoy, Werner and Robert Trefusis (respectively) belong to an outcast group the “Witchbreed”.

Scotius and Jean made their first appearances in 1602 #1 (with Robert) rescuing Werner from a burning stake and imprisonment of the Grand Inquisitor (Magneto). Jean is disguised as a male and goes by the alias “John”. We gain Knowledge of their powers. Scotius’s optic blasts breaks Werner’s chains and Jean’s telekinesis propels their escape ship.

Next: 1602 #2